DSC08239.jpg

THE ORIGINS

The exact origin of Meunier is still unknown, but it is believed to come from Burgundy. Ferdinand Regner, director of the vineyard department at the Federal Office for Agriculture in  Klosterneuburg (in Austria), assumed that Meunier was a natural cross between Pinot Noir and Traminer.

 

However, genetic analyzes by biologist Carole Meredith tend to contradict this theory. Meunier is indeed rather a mutation of Pinot Noir: one would think that the lower surface of the leaves was covered with flour, so hairy they are. There are large areas of plantation in France, and in particular in Champagne, where it is the authorized grape variety in the assembly of champagne alongside Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. It is mainly cultivated in the Marne Valley.

DSC09612.jpg

IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF THE MEUNIER

Where does its qualifier of "Miller " come from when it comes directly from a stock of royal race?

 

Quite simply because the whitish and fluffy aspect of its leaves gives the impression that they are covered with flour. Its family tree has nothing to be ashamed of with other grape varieties qualified as noble. It is in fact the half-brother of Pinot Noir with which it shares the same organic characteristics.

(deep indentations in the leaves, compactness of the grains, high level of glucose, enzymes, pigments, organic acids, etc.)

This shameless vine loves  new adventures

Flirting with pollens from other grape varieties delighted her. Perhaps she instinctively seeks to avoid the dangers of forced inbreeding  ? At first modest, the flower bud remains hermetically closed. Its petals, of a soft green, located at the base of the bud, remain firmly united by a viscous substance, thus forming an inverted calyx. The young bride jealously watches her virginal lips, inaccessible to digging caterpillars as to passionate foragers.  

These delicate floral vulvae do not open until the arrival of its chosen pollen. He alone knows how to solicit his beauty by his magic recipe composed of enzymes intended to soften the corolla.

DSC08239.jpg

LES ORIGINES

L'origine exacte du Meunier est encore inconnue, mais on pense qu'il viendrait de Bourgogne. Ferdinand Regner, directeur du département de la vigne à l'Office fédéral pour l'agriculture à  Klosterneuburg (en Autriche), a supposé que le Meunier était un croisement naturel entre le Pinot Noir et le Traminer.


Cependant, les analyses génétiques de la biologiste Carole Meredith tendent à contredire cette théorie. Le Meunier serait en effet plutôt une mutation du Pinot Noir : on croirait que la surface inférieure des feuilles a été couverte de farine, tant elles sont velues. On trouve de grandes surfaces de plantation en France, et notamment en Champagne, où il est le cépage autorisé dans l'assemblage du champagne aux côtés du Pinot Noir et du Chardonnay. Il est majoritairement cultivé dans la Vallée de la Marne.

DSC09612.jpg

SUR LES TRACES DU MEUNIER

D'où vient son qualificatif de "Meunier" alors qu'il descend directement d'un cep de race royale ?


Tout simplement parce que l'aspect blanchâtre et duveteux de ses feuilles donne l'impression qu'elles se couvrent de farine. Son arbre généalogique n'a d'ailleurs rien à rougir d'autres cépages qualifiés de nobles. Il est en fait le demi-frère du pinot noir avec lequel il partage les mêmes caractères biologiques.

(profondes échancrures des feuilles, compacité des grains, taux élevé en glucose, d'oligaphénois, d'enzymes, de pigments, d'acides organiques …)

Cette vigne dévergondée adore  les nouvelles aventures

Flirter avec les pollens venus des autres cépages la réjouit. Peut-être cherche-t-elle d'instinct à éviter les dangers d'une consanguinité forcée  ? D'abord pudique, le bourgeon floral reste hermétiquement fermé. Ses pétales, d'un vert tendre, situés à la base du bourgeon, restent fermement soudés par une substance visqueuse, formant ainsi un calice renversé. La jeune mariée surveille jalousement ses lèvres virginales, inaccessibles aux chevilles fouilleuses comme aux butineurs passionnés. 

Ces délicates vulves florales ne s'entrouvrent qu'à l'arrivée de son pollen élu. Lui seul sait solliciter sa belle par sa recette magique composée d'enzymes destinées à attendrir la corolle.